twitter talk
alphabetical listing of databases
NEW! 3M Cloud Library: download and read e-books on your PC (Windows only), your mobile device or favorite e-reader (not compatible with Kindle). Great options for kids, teens and adults. Browse the 3M Cloud Library now.
AccessScience: Full-text science and technology articles, research updates, and dictionary terms.
Adult Learning Center: Resume review and live tutoring sessions from trained adult education instructors.
ALLDATA: Automotive diagnostic and repair information. Includes technical service bulletins, diagrams, and illustrations. Updated every 30 days. Available only in the library.
America's Newspapers: Full-text electronic editions of over 600 U. S. newspapers.
America's Obituaries and Death Notices: Newspaper obituaries and death notices from around the country.
Ancestry Library Edition: Invaluable resource for genealogical information. Available only in the library.
Atomic Training: Increase your computer skills anytime at your own pace. Tutorials on the all the most popular products (iLife, iPad, Microsoft Office Suite) are available 24/7, 7 days a week.
Barrington Courier-Review (Current): Full-text local news articles from 9/28/1995 to the present.
Barrington Courier-Review Index: Index to news articles from 1970-2004, and births, deaths, and marriages from 1890-2006.
Barrington Courier-Review (Historical): Full-page reproductions from 1914-1921, and April 23, 1925-November 13, 1930.
Biography in Context: Biographical information on more than one million people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
BookFlix: Video storybooks, interactive nonfiction books, puzzles, games, and author information. Includes Spanish language materials.
Books24x7: See Computer Books 24x7.
Business Insights: Essentials: Information on more than 500,000 companies and the latest business, management, industry, and investment news.
NEW! The Careers College™: A career services program that provides online job search courses and tools along with a virtual career resource center dedicated to helping job seekers, college undergraduates and graduates, and individuals in transition land the ideal job in any economy.
Chicago Tribune (Current): Full-text news articles and obituaries from 1985 to the present.
Chicago Tribune (Historical): Full-page and article reproductions of every available issue from 1849-1989.
Computer Books 24x7: Computer ebooks from top information technology and business publishers on web development, graphic design, programming, e-commerce, marketing, management, and other topics.
Consumer Reports: Available through LexisNexis for at home use. Click on Subject Areas in blue on lower left. Select Consumer Information. Enter your topic in Search For: (center of page). Specify date from drop-down box. Select Sources: Check box for Consumer Reports. (uncheck other boxes if desired) Click on red Search button.
Consumer Reports: Nonprofit ratings of popular products, full text of the current issue, plus an archive of reports from the past 4 years. The library subscribes to premium content; please ask a librarian for access.
Consumers' Checkbook: Independent, nonprofit evaluations of the quality and prices of local service firms and stores, such as auto repair shops, plumbers, dentists, banks, and insurance companies. Available only in the library.
Consumers Checkbook Healthcare: Consumers' Checkbook's Health care section. Doctors are reviewed by other doctors and consumers. Available only in the library.
CultureGrams: Up-to-date information on cultures and customs of the world.
Daily Herald: Local and regional news articles from 1995 to the present.
Demographics Now: Analyze the demographic and market potential by geographic area within Illinois.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos: Una enciclopedia de conocimientos generales. Contiene información sobre gente, lugares, objetos, acontecimientos e ideas.
Encyclopedia Britannica: Full-text articles from the complete encyclopedia, the Britannica Book of the Year, and the Britannica Student Encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Associations - National
Encyclopedia of Associations - Regional, State, and Local: Descriptions and contact information for thousands of nonprofit membership organizations.
ERIC: Journal articles and reports in education.
FirstSearch: Many full-text articles from magazines, medical journals, government publications, and other sources.
NEW! Fold3: Access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Freegal Music: Download three songs per week from a database of popular and classical music.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
General Reference Center: Magazines, reference books, and newspapers with full-text articles on current events, the arts, sciences, and sports.
Health and Wellness Center: Full-text articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, and prescription drugs.
HelpNow!: Live one-on-one online tutoring service for homework help and writing assistance. Includes Spanish language tutoring. Grades 3-12. Available everyday from 2:00-11:00 p.m.
HeritageQuest: U. S. census records for 1790-1930, many family and local histories, and genealogy periodical articles.
Hoover's: Company, industry, and market information on 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises. Available only in the library.
llinois Legal Forms: Legal forms are available on a variety of topics.
LexisNexis: News, business, and legal information including coverage of over 44 million U.S. and international companies, case law, statutes, and regulations, and access to over 1,000 national, regional, and international news publications.
NEW! Literature e-Resources: One stop for all of our literature resources. Find literary criticism, author biographies, book suggestions, e-books and more.
Mango Languages: Learn a new language: French, Italian, Spanish, German, Russian, Japanese, Greek, Brazilian Portuguese; as well as English for Spanish, Portuguese, and Polish speakers. Go to Apple's App Store to download the free Mango Mobile Library Edition app for iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad. NEW! - get the free Android app. To use the app, you will need to set up a free account with Mango on your computer.
MEDLINEPlus: All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
Morningstar Investment Research Center: Selection tools and information on stocks and mutual funds
Muzzy Languages: Award-winning language program helps kids learn Spanish, French, German and Italian in a fun, interactive environment. NEW: now Muzzy has immersion learning in Mandarin Chinese, Portuguese and Russian, too.
New York Times (Historical): Full-page and article reproductions from 1851-2008.
NoveList: Book recommendations for all ages.
NEW! OneClick: Thousands of audiobooks for kids and adults are available through the OneClickdigital collection. Use your BALibrary card to create a free account, then start downloading today. Get the FREE OneClickdigital iPhone app.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on social issues.
OverDrive: Audiobooks and ebooks for portable media devices.
Oxford English Dictionary: Detailed entries focusing on the meaning, origin, historical usage, and pronunciation of words.
p4a Antiques Reference: Current market values of antiques compiled from 50 leading U. S. auction houses. Includes photos for each item, auction notes, provenance, condition, dimensions, pre-sale estimates, price realized, and date of sale.
PowerSearch: Simultaneously search the General Reference Center, Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Public Records Online: Public filings of new businesses, new homeowners, home sales, home foreclosures, and bankruptcies in Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will counties.
ReferenceUSA: Addresses, phone numbers, officers, and SIC codes for 14 million U. S. businesses.
Residential Database: Phone numbers for 120 million U. S. households.
SIRS Researcher: Full-text articles (many with graphics) on social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues from more than 1,200 newspapers, magazines, journals and government publications.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage: Business and investment information with full-text of S&P's Industry Surveys; Stock and Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook and more.
NEW! TrueFlix: Explore history and science through interactive e-books, videos and activities.
Value Line: Information and analysis on stocks and mutual funds.
Wall Street Journal: Coverage from 1984 to the present.
Westlaw: Full-text of Smith-Hurd Illinois Compiled Statutes Annotated, Illinois Decisions, West's Illinois Administrative Code, standard Illinois legal and business forms, and other resources. Available only in the library.
World Book: Full-text, interactive encyclopedia articles, current events, maps, timelines, periodical articles, multimedia features, and more for all ages. Includes versions for young children and Spanish speakers.
World Book Kids: Full-text articles and multimedia for early elementary students.
WorldCat: Search other libraries for books, DVDs, CDs, and other materials. To get to WorldCat click on the down arrow to the right of Jump to Advanced Search and highlight WorldCat.
NEW! Zinio: Take your favorite magazine with you wherever you go! Use your library card to create an account and read some of the most popular magazine titles on your computer or mobile device. Download step-by-step instructions in PDF or Word doc. See a PDF list of titles available on Zinio.
Access: Anytime - Anywhere
Barrington Area Library cardholders, use your library card number to enjoy remote access to the majority of our subscription databases - anytime, from anywhere - simply by clicking on the name of the database and entering your library card number.
Those databases which do not allow remote access are highlighted in blue.
All databases are available in the library for public use.
